It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
prommy problems prommy problems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


prommy problems
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st December 2004, 05:27   #1
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default prommy problems

hey,

Whenever the pc boots, I get an overclocking error so it prompts me to either load defaults and continue, or to enter setup.

when I choose load defaults and continue, I can boot withouth problems, but i can't overclock for sh*t because of the standard Vcore setting.

when I choose enter setup and the save and exit, the screen just goes in standby and I can't reboot the system.

All I can do then is cold boot, but then I get the same error again and it starts all over again.


plz :help:



thanks in advance,

kristos




specs:
asus p4c800e-dlx 1019 bios
p4c 2.8 M0
 
Old 31st December 2004, 17:46   #2
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok quick copy paste cuz I don't have time right now, I'll answer more in depth later:




yes, I ran this setup previously without any problems up to 4 gig on air.
and with some prescotts who didn't' clock as high as the northy but overclocking itself was no problem at all.


the only "problem" if you can call it that was that sometimes I'd get the errormessage:

overclocking failed! please enter setup to re-configure your system. press del to enter setup or press F2 to load default values and continue.


but on air, I could just enter bios, leave all the settings unchanged and save and exit and it would boot without problems again.




now with the prommy, I get the same message (and a cpu temperature error).
I just loaded defaults, booted into windows and did a restart. went into the bios and changed only the Vcore and saved and exit.
bios didn't hang this time...

*edit* bios is displayed in odd colors now but I now changed ram divider and set pci/agp lock, saved and exit and it still boots



I'l do some more testing asap but it's newyear and I need to get ready




happy newyear to all!! may it be a prosperous year
 
Old 31st December 2004, 17:51   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

1) remove/remount mobo
2) reset BIOS
3) Flash BIOS
4) retry

had same prob with my Asus P4C800
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th January 2005, 01:04   #4
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok, mounted everything outside the case and that seems to have helped. the bios didn't give me any trouble yet... but now I have other problems:


the proc oc's worse then under air!!

it did 4gig on air superpi 1M stable @1.7V bios (no droop)

but when I set it to 3.8 gig with clockgen it hangs and that's @ 1.7V bios (droop) 1.76V cpu-z.




another thing is that the prom goes from -60 under load to as low as -16 when priming.


and there's a spot on the hose where it feels very hot on one side and very cold on the other side, nowhere else on the hose can I feel such extreme temperatures...
 
Old 8th January 2005, 01:10   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

there might be a leak in the hose
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th January 2005, 14:57   #6
Member
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

You're hose isn't supposed to feel cold ....

Borked hose if you ask me...
__________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
|....The BEER TRUCK.... ||||'""|""\_,__
|___Just for You___l||__|__|___|) _____|
|(@)(@)""""""""""""**|(@)(@)****|(@)|
easypanic is offline  
Old 9th January 2005, 11:41   #7
Da_Priest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I thought that less coolant in your system gave you a colder temp but the system isn't able to hold it that low.
so there might be a leak in your hose or something which would be the cause of less coolant in your system and give you these temps.

don't know if that explains the hot point on the hose though :s
normally you shouldn't feel any cold or heat on the hose.
The suctionline is normally pretty cold because of the cold gas comming from the cpu, but due to the insulation, you shouldn't feel that cold.
So especially no heat :s
the only warm thing thar runs over there is the captube...
Don't know if tha captube is run trough the suctionline in prommies... Maybe it's run outside and that could explain the heat your feeling....

anyone know if the stuff that I'm saying here actually makes sence?


grtz
 
Old 9th January 2005, 15:19   #8
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

don't know about the less gass > lower temps statement but isn't it the other way around? cold coolant in liquid form comes through the cap tube into the block where it absorbs the heat generated by the proc to turn into a gasious fase again and escape to the compressor via the suction line.


afaik, the cap tube runs inside the flexible hose. but a crack in the hose may expose the cap tube enough to let some of the cold come through the isolation.
 
Old 9th January 2005, 15:42   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kristos
don't know about the less gass > lower temps statement but isn't it the other way around? .

no, Calantak/Doc had/has the same prob with his prommy, leak in hose = very low temps @ idle, positive temps at load and system shutdown after 5min
http://www.madshrimps.be/forums/show...hlight=prom%2A
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th January 2005, 16:23   #10
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

less gas is less presure, less presure is lower temps but lower capacity too.
because the difference between low-side and high-side is higher now, the compressor now has to do more work so less capacity

hope that settles the theorie
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung hard drive problems with Abit AX8 motherboard Angel Blue01 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 1st July 2009 10:27
Nvidia Problems Hit HP Desktops jmke WebNews 0 14th October 2008 21:29
Study Finds Health Problems from Wind Farms jmke WebNews 0 14th August 2008 18:04
quake 4 problems mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 29th August 2006 22:30
problems with new X2 rig mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 3rd March 2006 21:07
Internet connection problems wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 1 29th October 2005 11:17
Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems? Lucky_Luciano Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 14 22nd November 2004 23:08
Prommy Mach Problems piotke Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 11 19th June 2004 18:14
Intel aware of Pentium 4 heat problems jmke WebNews 2 18th April 2004 02:17
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 16:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO