It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
problem overclocking ocz ram problem overclocking ocz ram
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


problem overclocking ocz ram
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd February 2005, 19:13   #1
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default problem overclocking ocz ram

Ok, first my specs

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ | Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe (bios: 4001.001) | OCZ PC-3200 DDR400 EL 2x512MB rev2 | MSI 6800GT PCI-E | Tagan 480W | Maxtor Diamondmax 10 300GB 7200RPM SATA 16MB

I overclocked my processor to 2700MHz (300*9 @ 1.550V)
But im not able to overclock my ram.
Its currently at 193MHz (2-2-2-5 @ 2.85V | DDR266 in bios)
http://img32.exs.cx/img32/8387/32s0lf.gif

Trying higher memory speeds like DDR333 or DDR400 makes the system unstable.
But im sure that this ram can overclock alot more then just 200MHz

what can i do about it?
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 20:40   #2
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

you ray that the ram is pc 3200 so defaultspeed is 200 mhz.

try 2.5-3-3-7 and try to puch it as hight as possible
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 2nd February 2005, 21:26   #3
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DDR266 works perfectly
the next thing u can choose in bios is DDR333 and that is unstable for me (even with 2.5-3-3 or even cas3) ..
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 21:32   #4
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default



can you rma that ram?
because thats pritty bad.

did you try it @ other pc or other ram in pc?
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:18   #5
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i think i got the system stable now:
ram now runs at 245MHz (2.5-4-4-10 @ 2.85V) -> DDR333 in bios

superpi now takes 32s while it took 31s with DDR266 (2-2-2-5 @ 2.85V)
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:19   #6
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the next thing higher then DDR333 is DDR400 and i doubt that is gonna work since my HTT is 300MHz
is there anyway to get my ram above 245MHz and less then 290MHz ? u cant set it in bios
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:28   #7
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default

could it be because im using a beta bios (400.001) ?
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:34   #8
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

i woudn't know about the bios. where dit you find it? are they other people with this problem?

you can play with the multi to get the right memspeed.
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:38   #9
jerr
 
Posts: n/a
Default

call me a noob but how ?
the only multi i know is for the cpu and if u lower it , the whole cpu goes slower
 
Old 2nd February 2005, 22:44   #10
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

oke jerr=>noob
everyone must begin somewhere

i'll try to explain it:

cpu and mem run @ 1:1=> 200 mhz

you are @ max of cpu, but your mem can go higher,
so you put your multi lower(this decreases your total speed but you can put your fsb back up so that you are @ max of cpu again.

if you have shitty mem and good cpu you can put a devider on your ram so you can put your cpu to max and mem too max.
if you want your mem as high as possible you have to find a way between cpu fsb, memfsb, devider, multi



i hope you understand it
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Technology Launches Mac Edition Vertex Series Solid State Drives and Notebook RAM jmke WebNews 0 8th April 2009 20:55
OCZ Platinum PC3-12800 Enhanced Bandwidth 2x1GB DDR3 RAM Sidney WebNews 0 9th November 2007 04:52
OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Vista Performance Platinum Dual Channel RAM Review Sidney WebNews 0 1st August 2007 01:36
problem with epox board or ram? mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 12th March 2006 01:13
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
problem with OCZ pc4000VX gold kr15t0f Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 13th July 2005 20:53
boot problem after install OCZ booster Desert Eagle Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 6th July 2005 02:26
Modding and Improving the OCZ DDR Booster for DFI, Chaintech, ETC, with 3 Ram Slots jmke WebNews 0 23rd December 2004 19:21
overclocking with 1024mb ram experiences? RichBa5tard Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 7 15th October 2003 19:47
problem with overclocking kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 10 27th March 2003 18:12

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO