It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
possible to run older cpu's on 200fsb? possible to run older cpu's on 200fsb?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


possible to run older cpu's on 200fsb?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st May 2003, 16:26   #1
anes
 
Posts: n/a
Default possible to run older cpu's on 200fsb?

most people reach easily 200fsb with a tbred B on an nforce2 board like abit nf-s rev2.0

but is it possible to run older cpu's, like the vanilla xp, or even a tbird (both unlocked) on a 200 fsb with for example a low multiplier (7 or 8) ?

anyone tested it? or is this nonsense?

:rod:
 
Old 31st May 2003, 16:53   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

vannila XP: it'll reach high FSB
tbird: dunno, but I do know some Duron's weren't able to reach a high FSB
 
Old 31st May 2003, 17:38   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

vanilla XP, 200 fsb easely, not tried higher...
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 1st June 2003, 00:31   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Tbird no prob
some duron's had problems
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st June 2003, 09:47   #5
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hmm what a vanilla xp
 
Old 1st June 2003, 11:37   #6
colin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Athlon 1100 (100 FSB) had no problems @ 210 MHz FSB
 
Old 1st June 2003, 12:02   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vegeta
hmm what a vanilla xp
Athlon XP Palomino
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd June 2003, 16:02   #8
StaRflaM
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i didn't reach 160fsb @ 11.5multi with a palomino

but how dod you get 200fsb? lower multi ?
 
Old 23rd June 2003, 17:00   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yep!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd June 2003, 19:41   #10
StaRflaM
 
Posts: n/a
Default

and the higher the FSB the faster he run's?

i'm not an oc freak, but you probably seen that
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
88 percent of Intel CPUs in Q1 2011 to be Core 2010 jmke WebNews 2 12th May 2010 22:41
Intel Plans Core i7 and Core i5 CPUs for Notebooks in 2010 jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2009 13:00
QPI Unlocked on recent Intel Core i7 920 and 940 CPUs jmke WebNews 4 7th March 2009 08:37
Noctua presents NH-U12P SE1366 for Intel Core i7 CPUs jmke WebNews 0 12th November 2008 20:46
SLI licensed to run on X58 mainboards from ASUS, EVGA, MSI, Gigabyte and DFI jmke WebNews 0 22nd October 2008 13:22
ASUS Plans Motherboards To Support 140W Next-Generation CPUs jmke WebNews 4 23rd May 2008 10:13
Runing BioShock on older Video Cards jmke WebNews 0 29th August 2007 15:13
Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 35w and X2 4600+ 65w Low Power Usage CPUs tested jmke WebNews 0 13th July 2006 10:27
Half Of Corporate PCs Can't Run Vista, Researcher Says jmke WebNews 0 11th April 2006 10:04
MS Windows XP 64-bit Edition Does not Run on Intelís 64-bit Chips jmke WebNews 2 14th July 2004 15:37

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO