It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Opteron 148 s939? Opteron 148 s939?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Opteron 148 s939?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th January 2006, 04:42   #1
blakerateliff
 
Posts: n/a
Default Opteron 148 s939?

Hi, I currently have an Athlon 64
3200+ venice that's oc'd to 2750mhz.
Would it be worth it for me to upgrade to an Opteron 148. Do you think it might oc
better than my venice using the Vapochill
Micro Cooler? Any feedback would be
appreciated. thanks
 
Old 16th January 2006, 21:11   #2
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes it will overclock better BUT it's hardly worth it
 
Old 16th January 2006, 22:06   #3
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rutar
yes it will overclock better BUT it's hardly worth it

lazyman said it and i'll say it again.

your not worth to be a member of madshrimps, i read your posts every time and you manage too make a fool out of yourself.

maybe your enjoying this but i don't.

this is what i think about you!uke:

he crossed the line john, damn he is low minded
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 16th January 2006, 22:07   #4
agent #2
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Opteron 148 s939?

Quote:
Originally posted by blakerateliff
Hi, I currently have an Athlon 64
3200+ venice that's oc'd to 2750mhz.
Would it be worth it for me to upgrade to an Opteron 148. Do you think it might oc
better than my venice using the Vapochill
Micro Cooler? Any feedback would be
appreciated. thanks
It would be a waste of money.
 
Old 16th January 2006, 22:10   #5
Member
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

thats a normal answer at least
__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 16th January 2006, 23:01   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

please, keep this forum clean.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 17th January 2006, 00:26   #7
blakerateliff
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the feedback, I think I'll just
wait until I have enough $ to buy an
athlon 64 X2.
 
Old 17th January 2006, 01:34   #8
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you want a dual core AMD64 you better be looking for a Opteron 165/170.

They have 1MB L2 cache for each core.

3800+ and 4200+ has only 512KB for each core.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Opteron 146 s939 geoffrey Mad Bargains 2 23rd May 2006 23:21
[Tk] AMD Opteron 165 Dual Core (S939, 1,8GHz, 2MB, Boxed) Vassili Mad Bargains 0 30th March 2006 18:23
[FS] Opteron 146 & Dual Core 165 Socket 939 [CLOSED] computersmsa Mad Bargains 357 14th December 2005 22:34
AMD Denies Phase Out of Opteron Chips for Socket 939 jmke WebNews 1 14th December 2005 17:42
AMD Lowers AMD Opteron for 1-Way Apps Pricing jmke WebNews 1 4th November 2005 11:02
Arima Dual AMD Opteron SW300 & SW310 + Quad AMD Opteron SW500 Sidney WebNews 0 31st May 2005 17:29
AMD Dual-Core Opteron as soon as Q2 05 jmke WebNews 0 25th March 2005 12:12
AMD Cranks Up Speed of Low Power AMD Opteron Chips jmke WebNews 0 23rd March 2005 12:29
AMD's Q1 2004 Opteron Sales Surpass the Whole 2004 Figure jmke WebNews 0 17th June 2004 09:53
HP announces four-way Opteron system jmke WebNews 2 25th April 2004 20:30

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO