It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
OC, yes, but what about OD? OC, yes, but what about OD?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


OC, yes, but what about OD?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th December 2009, 12:24   #11
JimmyJump
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeghoofd View Post
does the biops readout any other voltages Jimmy ? Usually they are too much for the required speeds... especially dangerous are eg QPI and RAM voltages voltages like Kougar already mentioned.

If you can readout the voltages, I would set them a tad lower and retest and so on till you find the lowest stable voltage...
Yes there are. let me check on those and I'll get back to you. Am only using one PC atm... (well, two, but watching TV on the other one through an USB DVB-T, which is too sensitive and drops out when surfing and stuff)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeghoofd View Post
Did it also increase Vcore ? I would start experimenting a bit mate to find a good combination between extra speed, voltage requirements, noise and heat output....
Yes it did increase V-Core. I think I'm gonna wait till I have my new CPU cooler to have another go at experimenting. especially considering the technical mumbo-jumbo Massman threw in my general direction. That was almost scary dude. I think I'm gonna do a bit of reading on those technical aspects, just to really know what exactly I'm doing here...
 
Old 24th December 2009, 12:47   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
leeghoofd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,151
leeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registeredleeghoofd Fully Registered
Default

yep I would run everything stock till you get a good CPU cooler, then start lookign for a bit more ooomph. But i would strongly suggest to stay way from them AUTO settings. Eg my Rampage Gene II would set 2volts for my low voltage rams. If I didn't check it I would have smoked them for sure...

And yes Massman is scary I second that, far too much technical info in that little head...
__________________
leeghoofd is offline  
Old 24th December 2009, 20:22   #13
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hm, I thought the uncore voltage could not be adjusted, but going by what you are saying if I adjust the "QPI voltage" (what Gigabyte unfortunately labels it) I am in fact changing the VTT voltage/uncore voltage? Or does changing the VTT not affect the uncore voltage as I had thought?

So Intel does mention a 1.65v limitation in the data sheets for LGA1156? Then to pose a question, what about the PCIe controllers, those would still be running at 1.5v, which is 0.4v higher than the VTT on the same die. Why would VTT/RAM voltage be an issue but PCIe wouldn't? IMC's just that sensitive? Anandtech mentioned something about amplitude, but was as much as I remember...
 
Old 24th December 2009, 20:42   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Waregem
Posts: 6,465
Massman Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kougar View Post
Hm, I thought the uncore voltage could not be adjusted, but going by what you are saying if I adjust the "QPI voltage" (what Gigabyte unfortunately labels it) I am in fact changing the VTT voltage/uncore voltage? Or does changing the VTT not affect the uncore voltage as I had thought?

So Intel does mention a 1.65v limitation in the data sheets for LGA1156? Then to pose a question, what about the PCIe controllers, those would still be running at 1.5v, which is 0.4v higher than the VTT on the same die. Why would VTT/RAM voltage be an issue but PCIe wouldn't? IMC's just that sensitive? Anandtech mentioned something about amplitude, but was as much as I remember...
You are right about the PCH voltage: this one has to be adjusted as well when you're increasing the voltage of the VTT. There's not that much documentation on this (well, not when I was doing research), but it's assumed that keeping the VTT and PCH within 0.4V is within safe range.

I've experienced this problem, by the way, when I was testing the MSI P55-GD80:

Quote:
- If you plan to use 1.6V VTT, increase the PCH 1.05V to 1.3V. I've asked MSI to make this happen automatically, but this is the key to make it happen. The reason is really simple: PCH is integrated on uncore die, so ...

~ http://hwbot.org/forum/showpost.php?...4&postcount=26
If I'm not mistaken, the entire non-core die makes usage of the VTT plane; this includes PCH and IMC.
__________________
Massman is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:28.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO