It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
OC RAM (around 260) OC RAM (around 260)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


OC RAM (around 260)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th December 2004, 18:03   #1
G33MD00D
 
Posts: n/a
Default OC RAM (around 260)

I'm not planning to buy an AMD 64 3500+... because of that I have some extra money for good oc ram (no valueselect, what was my first choice) , my budget lays around the 260...

what about the following RAM?

GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Ultra-X CAS2 [263 on www.overclockers.uk, no extra post costages because I will buy my graka and mobo there]

OR

Patriot PC3200 +XBLK 2-2-2 (http://www.pc-memory-upgrade.co.uk frontpage) [264 + 4 post costages]

You can always link me to other RAM if you know other good RAM for +- the same price.
 
Old 4th December 2004, 18:07   #2
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

G-skill 1GB G.SKILL DUAL PC550 2x512 F1-3200DSU2-1GBLE
http://www.kmelektronik.de/main_site...Shop&type=shop

2x 512MB
- PC4400 Betrieb: CL2,5, Timings 2,5-3-3-7
- PC3200 Betrieb: CL2, Timings 2-2-2-5
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 5th December 2004, 03:36   #3
G33MD00D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

does that one stand on the site: "http://www.pc-memory-upgrade.co.uk/" 'cause I can't find it there.

2 choices where I can buy my RAM:

www.overclockers.co.uk
http://www.pc-memory-upgrade.co.uk/

ps: http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=24 4 = the same one you gave me?
 
Old 7th December 2004, 18:50   #4
G33MD00D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is the Patriot PC3200 +XBLK 2-2-2 (http://www.pc-memory-upgrade.co.uk frontpage) recommended? I saw an article on this website about RAM on a socket 754 CPU.. the conclusion was that this memory is good for his price.. so It's good OC ram huh?
 
Old 7th December 2004, 20:02   #5
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If it has samsung tccd and brainpower pcb, then it can't be bad

http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=43659
 
Old 7th December 2004, 20:02   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

PDP will do excellently, using tight timings and memory dividers to OC the CPU and keep ram at lower speed with CL2 2-2-5 timings.

using 2 sticks the memory will not scale "very" high; but performance increases are not there either, so no worries with sticking with mem dividers and tight timings
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th December 2004, 22:14   #7
G33MD00D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

what do you mean with "using 2 sticks will don't give a performance boost" ? 2* 512ddr ram for example are 2 sticks??
 
Old 7th December 2004, 22:28   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

where do I say

"using 2 sticks will don't give a performance boost"

that's not even a full sentence

I'm saying that using 2 sticks on S754 will limit the memory OC to 230-250Mhz depending on quality of memory
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th December 2004, 23:45   #9
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

where did he say it's for a s754 setup?
 
Old 7th December 2004, 23:52   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

actually, I'm explaining in which situation 2 sticks will hurt OC ..
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600Mhz Ram TW3X4G1600C9DHXNV jmke WebNews 0 10th November 2008 17:48
Super Talent Project X DDR3-1800 2x1GB RAM Sidney WebNews 0 7th December 2007 17:32
Enable 4GB of RAM with Windows Vista Sidney WebNews 0 17th October 2007 02:24
INFO: List of RAM with Winbond UTT chips jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 2 29th May 2005 18:16
INFO: RAM List: What Chips on what Memory jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 3 23rd April 2005 18:13
RazoTech RAM MOD jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2005 23:25
Ram bottleneck? Desert Eagle Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 1 21st November 2004 17:42
mobo can't get passed 250fsb with ram 1:1 kr15t0f Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 25 6th November 2004 09:11
RAM - Memory Technology Overview jmke WebNews 0 28th September 2004 10:58
TK: Twinmos Single Sided Ram 128mb PC133 The_Loserkid For Sale 0 31st December 2003 10:19

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO