It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
New Mobo & Mem Opinions New Mobo & Mem Opinions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


New Mobo & Mem Opinions
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th October 2005, 23:43   #1
hjomby
 
Posts: n/a
New Mobo & Mem Opinions

[FONT=arial]I'm thinking of upgrading a PC I built a few months back and I'd like some opinions.

I have an Intel P4 Prescott 630 CPU 3.0GHz@3.58GHz (239X15) in an Albatron PX915P PRO with 1GB Kingston HyperX DDR400@474MHz (2X512MB). I also have a 256MB Gigabyte GeForce 6600 PCI Express graphics card.

I've tried everything and the CPU is maxxed out at 3.58 GHz. I was wondering if I should get rid of the Albatron board and go with a new board, DDR2 (PC800 or PC1000) and a better graphics card in the future (a better NVidia or ATI card).

My experience with this Albatron board is that you can only bump up the voltage +0.3v or +0.4v on the CPU and mem. Up to 239 FSB the Northbridge voltage automatically increases by +0.1v. When you go past 239 the NB increases by +0.2v. I've been told not to mess with the NB voltage.

I would like a board and memory that can handle extreme voltage increases so I can get the processor up near 4.0 GHz while being stable. I'd also like to stick with air cooling if possible.

I know everyone's got their own preferences on what to buy. I've read lots of reviews on DDR400, DDR533, etc. but haven't seen much on this newest DDR2s that are out. People seem to really like Patriot, GSkill and OCZ for mem and Asus and DFI Lanparty for mobos.

I mainly play FarCry and DeusEx Invisible War but I also have a ton of lesser graphics games.

I think the 3DMark 2001 score is like 15,511.

Is a 20% OC all that is possible with the socket 775 Prescott? Should I just change the graphics card instead and what's better, NVidia or ATI and why? SLI or not? Can the higher MHz memory be pushed further or is lower speed mem better for this?

Is it worth spending $300 or $400 on memory and a board or am I wasting my money for little gain?

I hope it's not too many questions for ya. Brand and model numbers and your successful settings, speeds, etc. Any info would be appreciated.[/FONT]
 
Old 28th October 2005, 03:46   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

Hi,

I can see you're an intel fan or atleast have intels.
But you're talking about games and then I think about AMD 64(money/performance).

Also you card can be overclocked till GT speeds and over.
With my AMD@2.7GHZ and my GT overclocked i get something of 25-26K in 3D01 and 4300-4400 in 3D05.

The if I look at your score its a bit low in 3D01, your score in 3d01 could be 20-26K with that card and a AMD. In 3D05 you should get 3.8-4.2 consider how far you OC.

So basicly if you want gain, sell one intel system + add the 300-400$ for an amd gaming rig.

Like: A64 3000+/3200+ - 2GB ram - sapphire X800GTO˛ or maybe a Connect3D X800GTO - DFI board to finish of the overclocking
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Old 28th October 2005, 04:13   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

He has 6600 not 6600GT; so the 3D01 will not be as high. If he doesn't OC the 6600 that is the normal sccore

When a processor is "willing" you don't need much vcore, otherwise nothing could make it run at higher speed.

If it isn't the thermal issue, Intel chip is now more reasonable to own in term of price. It doesn't make sense to replace the entire system, get yourself a 7800GT or GTX you will be quite happy.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 28th October 2005, 11:34   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazyman
He has 6600 not 6600GT; so the 3D01 will not be as high. If he doesn't OC the 6600 that is the normal sccore
Put it this way, my axp + gf4ti4200 scored 15.6K . Its a dx8.1 card but you know what i am saying.
Also a 6600GT can be clocked like a GT and why shouldn't he do that. Still 15K is low in my eyes if you bench with an oc'ed system.

Quote:
When a processor is "willing" you don't need much vcore, otherwise nothing could make it run at higher speed.
Every specific type of proc scales different.
Example from an opteron: I see people hitting 3ghz with 1.45V but then they can't go much higher because the proc doesn't respond that good on high vcore.
Another opteron (different stepping). Needs 1.55V for 3GHZ but can go higher since the processor is still scaling till 3.2ghz/1.65V. (rough numbers but i am close).

Quote:
If it isn't the thermal issue, Intel chip is now more reasonable to own in term of price. It doesn't make sense to replace the entire system, get yourself a 7800GT or GTX you will be quite happy. [/b]
If you want to game i don't see many choice really. If you look at the performance for gaming and money the amd 64 tops out. The intel dothan is also good for gaming but I don't see it as a desktop proc.

About the graphic card: The x800gto˛ is todays best choice and then a 7800GT and will do just fine for the games hjomby plays.
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Old 28th October 2005, 16:01   #5
hjomby
 
Posts: n/a
The 6600 can be overclocked but not unlocked. It is presently running at +20% oc.

I was thinking about building an AMD machine strictly for gaming but that means building a whole new machine. That may be the way to go down the road when the top of line AMD procs drop in price. How are they on heat? Is it still necessary to water cool them?

I forgot to mention that I also do a lot of video editing. How well do AMDs handle video editing/compiling?
 
Old 28th October 2005, 17:19   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

6600GT with DDR3 surely is the advantage of 6600 with DDR

Video editing; DVD ripping, my experience with 7 systems (currently running) 4 Intels and 3 AMDs ..... Intel is better
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 28th October 2005, 21:58   #7
hjomby
 
Posts: n/a
Oh well. Thanks for the info. Gonna have to be content with what I have for now. It actually is really fast as it stands. It's funny how a machine like this is the fastest thing on the planet when you first build it and a week later it's not fast enough.:-)
 
Old 28th October 2005, 22:07   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
week later it's not fast enough
Welcome to the tech world
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 28th October 2005, 22:22   #9
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

more ram, video editing would sure run a whole lot better just by adding 2x512MB
 
Old 29th October 2005, 12:02   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hjomby
The 6600 can be overclocked but not unlocked. It is presently running at +20% oc.

I was thinking about building an AMD machine strictly for gaming but that means building a whole new machine. That may be the way to go down the road when the top of line AMD procs drop in price. How are they on heat? Is it still necessary to water cool them?

I forgot to mention that I also do a lot of video editing. How well do AMDs handle video editing/compiling?
Well the cooling of and AMD 64 is easy, I doesn't get so hot compared to an intel proc.
Some poeple have a big heatsink without a fan on it.
Right now I am sitting on a64 clawhammer 3000+ idling at 28°C and roomtemp of 21°C with boxed cooling.
Full load it goes till 40°C.

Compiling and editing are in favour to intel. But that are just a few. On most benches AMD has the crown.
I own 2 Intels and i am certainly not a fanboy. But you need to take whats best for you. Encoding or gaming.

I always see it this way.(i got 4 pc's) So with encoding it doesn't matter much to me if it takes a bit longer then, I'll encode on my other pc(PIII or AXP) and game on the pc with best frames.
For now i stick to amd because you can't buy fps but you can wait for the time to complete an encoded file.
If you know what I mean. You can always encode on your other Intel.

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=1255&page=1
here is a review of a venice cpu. You can get more information out this review
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
combining two 3 lead fans to one mobo fan connection hewo Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 10th June 2007 20:39
Need Help Pls. with Mobo advice thecookie General Madness - System Building Advice 5 30th March 2007 07:14
old 940 mobo koensa In Demand 0 11th January 2007 16:34
AM2 Enthusiast Deluxe Mobo ˇV MSI K9N Diamond Performance and Analysis windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 29th September 2006 03:22
a64 cpu + mobo + mem koensa For Sale 0 23rd April 2006 13:36
socket A mobo. kr15t0f In Demand 3 16th December 2004 23:58
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 23:23
Where is the mobo temp. sensor located? GiantKiller Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 15th June 2003 14:52
Which OC mobo to get? RichBa5tard General Madness - System Building Advice 10 24th November 2002 22:33
mobo doesn't start up biCker Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 18th September 2002 14:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO