It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Intel E6400 with 4Mb L2 Cache spotted in the wild Intel E6400 with 4Mb L2 Cache spotted in the wild
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Intel E6400 with 4Mb L2 Cache spotted in the wild
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th October 2006, 12:06   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Intel E6400 with 4Mb L2 Cache spotted in the wild

The story with my E6400 started when I bought it from kiwi. Then I put it under DI and got a WR on that But the results were doudtful because the CPU was faster than most of conroes @ that freq.

Now, though, with new CPU-Z 1.37 it all got clear. Downloaded it today in the morning - tested it on my mom`s PC (since my E6700 rig is undercostruction) - didn`t believe my eyes - CPU has shown 4Mb of cache !!! Tried CrustalCPUID - the same thing - 4096Kbytes
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 10th October 2006, 16:13   #2
Jaco
 
Posts: n/a
Default

read the reply from Franck Delattre
post 62

FAKE
 
Old 10th October 2006, 16:20   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

thanks for delving into that thread, didn't have the time to plow through it earlier
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 10th October 2006, 22:58   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

I know what Frank told us, but how can you explain the fact that is superpi (Allendale world record) is totally of the chart.

His: (4,4GHz- > 11.67)
http://www.hwbot.org/compare.do?resultId=552207

Closest one: (4,25GHz -> 14.00)
http://www.hwbot.org/compare.do?resultId=554027

For only 150MHz, that is a very big hole.
Now have a look at this:
E6600 @ 4,4GHz -> 11,64s
http://www.hwbot.org/compare.do?resultId=551812
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 28th November 2006, 02:24   #5
boomeraus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi all,

I was doing some hunting and came across this site.

There is a thread going in Australia about a E6400 4MB Cache that someone bought. It states in CPU-z that is an ES.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum...m?t=633167&p=1

Can someone point me to this reply you mention from Franck. I cant see it here.

thanks.
 
Old 28th November 2006, 12:16   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

let me see if I can find the link, here it is: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=118768
Attached Thumbnails
intel-e6400-4mb-l2-cache-spotted-wild-93340.jpg
__________________

Last edited by jmke : 28th November 2006 at 12:18.
jmke is offline  
Old 28th November 2006, 12:57   #7
boomeraus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks man, i found it.

But they are saying it's a fake. I don't think it is.

Someone bought one from IT Estate and they are selling them as E6400 4MB L2 Cache.

I'm real confused lol.

http://www.itestate.com.au/category....10003062600201
 
Old 28th November 2006, 20:06   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,118
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

E-mailed them, let's wait for their answer
geoffrey is offline  
Old 1st December 2006, 10:38   #9
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wow, this is cool. Now if only someone sold those in the US at the usual e6400 prices...

Same exact Revision B2 Stepping 6 model otherwise. Makes you wonder if any more "slipped" by Intel...? B2 Stepping 6's are not ES chips.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 Kentsfield 2.66GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 piotke For Sale 0 20th February 2010 21:16
Intel Core 2 Duo E5200 Spotted in the Wild jmke WebNews 0 8th July 2008 19:34
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6950 coming Q4, 3.33GHz, 12MB L2 cache jmke WebNews 0 27th July 2007 15:46
Intel Server QuadCore CPU "Harpertown" has 12 MB cache, FSB 1333 jmke WebNews 0 18th June 2007 09:51
Back to Back Dual Core Processor Competition–When AM2 X2 5000+ meet Intel C2D E6400 windwithme General Madness - System Building Advice 4 18th April 2007 12:33
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Spotted in the Wild jmke WebNews 1 3rd February 2007 16:35
Most efficient L2 cache usage: Intel shared or AMD dedicated? jmke WebNews 0 23rd October 2006 13:04
Intel Preps 3.50GHz Server Chips with 8MB Cache jmke WebNews 0 14th January 2005 09:58
Intel Itanium 2 to Get Additional Clock-Speed, Cache jmke WebNews 0 25th May 2004 15:21
Intel Heads Towards 4MB Cache in Desktop Processors jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2004 08:36

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO