It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
How high can u get 1066 RIIM's How high can u get 1066 RIIM's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


How high can u get 1066 RIIM's
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th August 2002, 11:49   #1
Syco
 
Posts: n/a
Default How high can u get 1066 RIIM's

I'm plannig to buy the Gigabyte GA-8IHXP (I850E), FSB goes to 156 Mhz. Now are there any RIMM's that can handle 156 Mhz quad pumped? I'm not going to voltmod or anything. So, I'm gonna buy the 2.26 or 2.4 PIV with this mobo and l'm looking for very good RIMM's to go with this config. Will Kingston PC-1066 of Samsung PC-1066 do the job? Any advice is welcome!
Thx in advance.
 
Old 24th August 2002, 17:11   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

probably both will be able to get there, not many people here on the forums have pc1066 yet, so you'll have to wait.
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 24th August 2002, 19:16   #3
Magnum_
 
Posts: n/a
Default

my memory goes up to 160*4, so 156 shouldn't be a problem
(asus P4T533, 256mb PC4200)

Though I find it very peculiar that I can't get THAT much higher when I set it to 3x 165 or something, any higher gets me bluescreens
 
Old 24th August 2002, 22:30   #4
Pirre
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have Kingston PC1066 RIMMs, type KVR1066X16-8/256.
Until 142MHz rockstable, 143-147MHz results in hangups within one day, higher than 147MHz not even bootable most cases ...
So kind a disappointing results, it's not double sided ok, but still 32ns should get it a bit further then just 142 stable.

I dunno about those Samsung 4200RIMMs, there seem to be 101 and 102 versions, only one is good, and also lot's of problems with stability with the P4T533 mobo. Some can't even run stable at a default 4*133 ..... at 4*140 it seems to run stable then, so I don't know whether that mobo is a good buy ...
Some mention it's only if you want to oc that you get probs with the P4T533, others can't even run stable at default speeds ...
In many tests they achieve freq's up to 4*160 ... however they used 512MB Samsung 4200RIMMs ECC modules there.
Asus delivers a 256MB modules non ECC with the mobo for customers, and those modules don't reach 4*160 at all....

I haven't seen many modules (PC800 or PC1066 or whatever) available for the big public do 4*150 or more STABLE for daily use .... in contrast the Samsung PC800 DS module could do 140 rockstable for daily use at that speed ...

Another irritating thingie about all recent Socket 478 mobo's is that the new P4 3,06GHz with HyperThreading support will need more power, 70W, while current S478 mobo's only deliver 60W max to the cpu ...
 
Old 24th August 2002, 23:04   #5
Magnum_
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ow?
is there any way I can prove that I have quad pumped RDRAM running @ 159-160 ? Cuz I really think its running @ 640mhz :s
(that's what the startupscreen tells me, and I set it to 4x (not auto) in bios :s )
sisoft mem bench maybe?

mod1 :
i just ran some tests, here are the results :

http://users.pandora.be/crush/HW/

This is 160*4 mhz... I am NOT saying it is 100% rockstable, but I have been running for a week now at this speed, without any big difficulties. I cant run any 3dmark atm, cuz I sold my GF3, and I'm running with a crappy radeon VE :'(. But I'll be posting a PCmark score soon. (within 10 minutes or so )

mod2 : http://service.madonion.com/compare?pcm=599202
 
Old 25th August 2002, 00:04   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

almost 4000kb/s in memory bench... impressive
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 25th August 2002, 00:11   #7
Pirre
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pirre
I haven't seen many modules (PC800 or PC1066 or whatever) available for the big public do 4*150 or more STABLE for daily use .... in contrast the Samsung PC800 DS module could do 140 rockstable for daily use at that speed ...
My mistake, I should have been more clear, The above refers to 16 BIT rimms ....

About the 4200rimms , you are the first I see with those speeds, since most people have lots of trouble when oc'ing that mobo ...
or perhaps you just got a nice sample

The reason I answered this topic in the first place , is because Gamer told Syco, that kingston and samsung pc1066 rimms should reach 155 mhz .... I haven't seen a single one doing that, 16 BIT rimms that is...
 
Old 25th August 2002, 01:31   #8
Syco
 
Posts: n/a
Default

indeed Pirre, I'm also talking about 16-bit RIMM's. Why aren't there any types that go higher than 145 Mhz? Is there anyone who has 16-bit Rimm's which run stable at 155 Mhz quad pumped?
 
Old 25th August 2002, 09:27   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

160*4 and no 4000... weird...


this is with a 191*3, but @ 3200 mhz, i have more cpu bandwith, which sisoft memory benchmarks are very susceptible to...

__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 25th August 2002, 11:18   #10
Magnum_
 
Posts: n/a
Default

4124 / 4107

I finally found some bench at which I can beat calantak
jk
This test was run @ 165*4 , RDRAM turbo mode enabled...
The bandwith increase is not at all what I expected for 5mhz increase but hey, I'm faster Its not stable at al, cuz right AFTER I took the screens, the system locked up
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Talent Launches 450X, 533X, and 600X High Speed CompactFlash Media Cards jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2009 12:26
Corsair® Launches High Density DDR3 Memory for Core™ i5 and Core™ i7 jmke WebNews 0 2nd September 2009 11:15
Patriot Announces DDR3 Registered ECC Modules for High Performance Servers jmke WebNews 0 15th May 2009 09:07
OCZ Technology Introduces Premium Gold Series Secure Digital High Capacity (SDHC) jmke WebNews 0 14th December 2008 12:34
ATI works on dual chip high end card for 2008 jmke WebNews 0 10th June 2007 08:08
OCZ Announces High Performance Memory Solution for Enthusiasts - PC2-6400 Flex XLC jmke WebNews 0 19th January 2007 10:39
High Power 560Watt Power Supply HPC-560-A12C Sidney WebNews 0 21st February 2006 07:11
Valve's High Dynamic Range Explored Sidney WebNews 0 1st October 2005 00:26
ATI Drives High Definition Visual Performance into Thin-and-Light Notebook PCs jmke WebNews 0 19th January 2005 13:32
Intel® High Definition Audio Will Be Music To PC Users' Ears jmke WebNews 0 19th April 2004 22:12

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO