It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Help with AMD 2200 Overclock Help with AMD 2200 Overclock
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Help with AMD 2200 Overclock
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st June 2004, 13:56   #1
chutney
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with AMD 2200 Overclock

Hi,

I'm running a 2200 on an MSI K7N2-Delta-L and am trying to overclock it.
I seem to have the ability to increase the multiplier, but whatever settings I change the only next step up from 1800 seems to be to go straight to 2300, whatever I set the CPU FSB to, which isn't stable. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a way I can increase the overclock gradually?

Do I need to unlock the processor or is this already done?

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Newb
 
Old 22nd June 2004, 09:26   #2
duploxxx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

first read 101 topics about oc to understand how it is done and play with your rig, then ask some questions with enough info.

proc type
mobo type
mem type
Vdimm
Vcore
fsb settings
multiplier
etc

duploxxx
 
Old 26th April 2005, 09:52   #3
chutney
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, finally.

I got fsb set to 140 (fsb/ram ration 1:1) with multiplier at 7 in bios. This is giving me a clock speed of 2100 with a multiplier of 15 (WCPUID). I haven't changed the Vcore. Memory is set to high performance (whatever that is).

System seems stable and cpu running at about 48c. As this is 300Mhz above stock I am pretty happy, though I am sure it can go higher.

tbed 2200+
k7n2-delta-L
radeon 9800 pro
WD Caviar 40Gb
2x256 crucial 2700
1x256 corsair 2700
Thermaltalke 350w purepower
 
Old 9th May 2005, 17:28   #4
BAMBI
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Good, keep increaseing the FSB and increase vcore if you become unstable.
 
Old 9th May 2005, 17:47   #5
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

First up the FSB to 166 and lower the multi to 12.5. This is the minimum your ram should be able to do.
Now, try to find the max. cpu speed at different vcores by changing the multi (thus eliminating ram or chipset poblems.
And then you can start upping the fsb with a lower multi to find the RAM/chipset limit (though NF² can do +220Mhz wich is way too much for your ram).
You can also change the ram voltage and timing to obtain a higher FSB (but do mind that RAM times doe effect performance quite a lot)

Hope this helped a bit.
 
Old 10th May 2005, 09:59   #6
chutney
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi thanks for the tip. I so far managed to get a stable top FSB of 155 with the default multiplier of 13 giving me a clock speed of 2015. This is with the stock Vcore and cpu temp around 47c.

In terms of chaning the multiplier, I am pretty limited. I only seem to be able to choose 7 or 7.5 in bios (giving me 15) so I guess my chip must be locked.
 
Old 10th May 2005, 16:08   #7
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I know there is a program wich can change the multies un der windows, crystal cpu id or something like that.
But it probably only works whe, you mod the cpu to a mobile.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Launches World’s First x86 Triple-Core Processors jmke WebNews 0 27th March 2008 15:16
Overclock your AMD Sempron into a Pentium 4 jmke WebNews 1 8th January 2007 12:35
AMD Introduces Three New Dual-Core AMD Opteron™ Processors jmke WebNews 0 12th March 2006 19:25
AMD Introduces Line of Low-Power, High-Performance AMD Geode Embedded x86 Processors Sidney WebNews 0 24th May 2004 06:10
Amd Reports Fourth Quarter And Annual Results jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2004 14:47
AMD 1800+ dlt3c overclock core ZZnazer For Sale 3 16th August 2003 14:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO